How did we grade the Candidates?

The ArtsVote Niagara 2006 test case survey of St. Catharines and Niagara Regional Council candidates was created by the Executive Committee members with limited input from local artists.  In future, and with more time, ArtsVote Niagara will invite a much broader input from the cultural community in the formulation of questions.  ArtsVote Niagara also will invite Arts Monitors from throughout the Niagara Region to keep a record of votes on issues of interest to the creative community in Niagara.

In the 2006 municipal election campaign, a link to a SurveyMonkey survey was emailed at least twice to candidates and a hard copy version of the SurveyMonkey survey was mailed to candidates.  The values for each of the responses to the survey questions were established by the ArtsVote Niagara Executive Committee in collaboration with the founders of ArtsVote in Toronto.  Values were assigned to the answers by ArtsVote Niagara and then ArtsVote Toronto experts were asked to recommend values independently.  The two sets of values were compared and where there were discrepancies, the values were adjusted upwards.  The survey questions are currently available for downloading at HERE.

The general approach to marking the surveys is to give the candidate the benefit of the doubt.

The first section of the survey asks the candidates about beliefs, commitments and participation in arts, culture and heritage.  This section was assigned a 30% weight in the marking of the overall survey.

The second, third and fourth sections of the survey are multiple choice questions about current issues.  ArtsVote Toronto experts recommended that the issues section of the survey be assigned a weight of 60% of the overall mark, and ArtsVote Niagara accepted this recommendation.

The most subjective aspect of the survey is in Section 5 where, “candidates are encouraged to provide any further comments or position statements on arts or arts-related cultural, multi-cultural and heritage issues and priorities, including relevant education, work experience and volunteer work.”  This is an opportunity for the candidates to earn an additional 10% based on the statements and evidence they provide on their positions, experience, education and commitment with respect to arts, culture and heritage.

2006 Candidates

NAVIGATE:
2006 School Board
2006 Mayoralty Candidates
2006 Municipal Ward Councillors
2006 Regional Councillors

2006 School Board
Alex McKee alex@alexmckee.com
Andrew Bowles albowles@hotmail.com
Dalton Clark daltonclark@cogeco.ca
Elaine Manocha elmanocha@yahoo.ca
Flavia Orvitz flaviamo@aol.com
John Davis jad@mergetel.com
Kathy Burtnik kburtnik@niagararc.com
Larry Newton electnewton2006@cogeco.ca
Lora Campbell lcampbel@vaxxine.com
Lorna Costantini vote4lorna@lornacostantini.com
Lynn Campbell walter.campbell@sympatico.ca
Marcy Heit bheit@mergetel.com
Maurice Charbonneau mcharbonneau4@cogeco.ca
Melinda Chartrand mchartrand2@csdccs.edu.on.ca
Shawn Montreuil shawnrm@iaw.com
Suzanne Westera swestera@sympatico.ca
Tony Scalzi tscalzi@cogeco.ca
2006 Mayoralty Candidates
Brian McMullan brian@brianmcmullan.ca
Emad Zawady ezawady05@hotmail.com
Garry Robbins garformayor@hotmail.com
Jackie Phelan jackie@goforwardwithphelan.ca
Marilyn Bodogh marilyn@marilynbodogh.com
Preston Haskell phaskell@millpondstudio.com
Robert Welch robert.welch@sympatico.ca
Sue Erskine serskine@sympatico.ca
2006 Municipal Ward Councillors
Andrew Gill andygill114@hotmail.com
Bill Buckle bbuckle@cogeco.ca
Bill Phillips bphillips3@cogeco.ca
Brian Dorsey bdorsey@cogeco.ca
Bruce Williamson melodie.williamson@bellnet.ca
Cameron Donevan stcathdonevan@aol.com
Charles Gervais cgervais@stcatharines.ca
Darren Platakis dplatakis1@cogeco.ca
David Prentice kiltclver@aol.com
Dawn Dodge ddodge@stcatharines.ca
Greg Washuta was1@bellnet.ca
Heather Foss hfoss@cogeco.ca
Jeff Burch info@jeffburch.ca
Jennifer Stevens 56 Alexandra Boulevard
St. Catharines, ON L2P 1J9
John Bacher pals@becon.org
Joseph Kushner kushner@brocku.ca
Laura Ip lauraip@cogeco.ca
Len Stack lstack6@cogeco.ca
Mark Elliott mark@houseandgarden.ca
Matthew Cutler matt@cutlerforcouncil.ca
Mike Sullivan msulliv2@becon.org
Milica Kovacevich milica@kovacevich.ca
Norm St. George n.j.s.g19@hotmail.com
Peter Secord psecord@stcatharines.ca
Richard Martinelli martinellrj@hotmail.com
Robbie Craine 27 Division St.
St. Catharines L2R 3G3
Salvatore Sorrento ssorrento@cogeco.ca
Sheila Morra morra4merritton@cogeco.ca
Susan Bassett susan.bassett053@sympatico.ca
Tim Atherton tatherton@sri.ca
Tony Tullo tonytullo@boardermail.com
Wayne Sadlak wsadlak@niagarac.on.ca
2006 Regional Councillors
Anne Angelone anne.angelone@regional.niagara.on.ca
Art Federow artfederow@hotmail.com
Barbara Grennwood Barbara_Greenwood_2006@hotmail.com
Barbara Henderson (Wainfleet mayor) barbhenderson@sympatico.ca
Bart Brouwer jantebart@hotmail.com
Bernie Villamil bernievillamil@cogeco.ca
Bill Hodgson wjh@bellnet.ca
Bill Smeaton william.smeaton@regional.niagara.on.ca
Blake Nicholls blaken@niagara.com
Bob Bentley bob.bentley@regional.niagara.on.ca
Bob Saracino bob.saracino@regional.niagara.on.ca
Brian Baty brian.baty@regional.niagara.on.ca
Brian Heit brian.heit@regional.niagara.on.ca
Bruce Timms bruce.timms@regional.niagara.on.ca
Carl Kovacs carl.kovacs@sympatico.ca
Chris Biasucci chris@chrisbiasucci.com
Cindy Forster b.forster@sympatico.ca
Damian Goulbourne dgoulbourne@niagarac.on.ca
Daniel Fortier dfortier@cogeco.ca
Daniel Rodrique daniel.rodrique@sympatico.ca
Daryl Wilkinson daryl.wilkinson@sympatico.ca
Dave Augustyn dave@augustynforpelham.ca
Dave Eke dave@daveeke.com
Dave Lepp david.lepp@sympatico.ca
Debbie Zimmerman debbie.zimmerman@regional.niagara.on.ca
Diane Sauder dsauder@iaw.com
Domenic Vescio alysha@iaw.on.ca
Douglas Martin dougmartin1@bellnet.ca
Ed Fulford 7607 Concession 7 Road
RR 1
Grassie, ON L0R 1M0
Frank Adamson fadamson@becon.org
Gary Burroughs gburroughs@notl.org
George Marshall georgemarshall@cogeco.net
Goerge Saddler expugnotum@aol.com
Gord Harry gord.harry@regional.niagara.on.ca
Henry D’Angela dangela@vaxxine.com
Jim Casson jim@jamesacasson.ca
John Bald jwbaldelectioncampaign@gmail.com
John Beam maximumice@bellnet.ca
John Mastroinanni jmastroianni1@cogeco.ca
John O’Neill johnoneill@cogeco.ca
John Papadakis john-papadakis@sympatico.ca
John Parisee pariseeforchange@cogeco.ca
John Watt kmale3@sympatico.ca
Joseph Carella carella@cogeco.ca
Judy Casselman judy.casselman@regional.niagara.on.ca
Katie Trombetta jthrower@westlincoln.com
Keith Maloney kmaloney50@hotmail.com
Michael Collins michael.collins@regional.niagara.on.ca
N. Carlos Garcia garcianiagara@aol.com
Norm Puttick norm.puttick056@sympatico.ca
Paul Keizer paulkeizer@msn.com
Peter Partington chairman@regional.niagara.on.ca
Randy Cheynowski (Wainfleet mayor) 51980 Forks Rd RR 3 Wainfleet, ON L0S 1V0
Ric Gorham (Fort Erie regional council) rgorham@cogeco.ca
Robert Gabriel robert.gabriel@regional.niagara.on.ca
Robert Hesp info@roberthesp.ca
Robin Brock robinbrock@sympatico.ca
Ron Bodner mayor@portcolborne.com
Ron Leavens ron.leavens@regional.niagara.on.ca
Ronna Katzman ronna.katzman@regional.niagara.on.ca
Sandy White swhite@vergeinsurance.com
Sharon Shearing sharon.shearing@sympatico.ca
Shirley Cordiner scordiner@cogeco.ca
Steve King steveking4mayor@sympatico.ca
Ted Salci tsalci@city.niagarafalls.on.ca
Tim Rigby trigby@stcatharines.ca
Tom Braybrook tom@braybrook.org
Tom Lewis Lewis4Mayor@canada.com
Tony Gigliotti hoc@cogeco.ca
Tony Mete tonymete@sympatico.ca
Troy Brooks 141 Elizabeth St
Welland, ON L3C 4M3
Uwe Brand ubrand@brocku.ca
Vance Badaway badaway@niagara.com
Vic Kerschl vkerschl@sympatico.ca
Vince Bellantino vincebel@iaw.on.ca
Wayne Campbell waynecampbell4mayor@cogeco.ca
Winston Sims winstonsims@hotmail.com